ANISONG World Tour Lantis Festival In Singapore 2015

I was in the concert hall thirty (30) minutes before the event started. It was held at the The Star Theatre in Singapore. I was amazed at how my seat was surprisingly near the stage. VIP holders were very lucky because they get to see the artists up close; they’re just an arm’s length away. Seriously. My friend was on the phone so I was talking to her throughout the wait, describing what the venue looks like. They played a recording of the house rules in Japanese and English (I think I heard it three times XD). While waiting, they played video clips from the Lantis Festival 2014 in Japan featuring JAM Project.

The MC for the event appeared (her name is Misa if I remember correctly) and welcomed everybody to ANISONG World Tour Lantis Festival in Singapore 2015. She reiterated the house rules and promised to make it quick because she knows everyone is excited. Before the concert proper, everybody took a moment of silence to pay respects to the late Lee Kuan Yew.

And this is it. The moment we’ve all been waiting for.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

The concert commenced with a video of the ANISONG World Tour and the artists who’ll be performing in Singapore: ChouChou, Azusa Tadakoro, Ono Kensho, Suzumura Kenichi, Ogata Megumi, OLDCODEX, Chihara Minori and JAM Project. The audience were cheering and waving their lightsticks as soon as they saw their favorite artist’s face.

Personally, I went to this concert because of OLDCODEX, MAINLY because of frontman Suzuki Tatsuhisa. I liked Tattsun initially as a voice actor. When I learned that he is also part of a rock band, I went crazy. Since then, I’ve started listening to their music and followed their gigs (online).  Back here in the Philippines, I just relied on the internet and video clips to watch OLDCODEX lives and Tattsun’s seiyuu events. When the artist lineup was announced in AFA 2014, I told myself “If OLDCODEX will perform, there are no second thoughts. I’m going to Singapore.” And they did (laughs). What’s more awesome is that Kensho, Suzuken and Minorin will also be there… and Ogata Megumi surprised the fans about taking part too! Talk about ultimate lineup right?! So what I did was bother my bestfriend and borrowed her credit card, bought a CAT 2 ticket (because CAT 1 tickets were sold out) and booked a flight to Singapore.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

First to perform was ChouChou. Honestly, I don’t know her (I’m so sorry). But when I heard her sing her set in the concert, I was amazed by her beautiful voice. I told myself I’ll listen to her songs from now on. What was cute was every artist have a talk session and they were speaking in English! ChouChou managed to pull it off and everyone applauded to her heartwarming message. She sang DreamRiser, 優しさの理由, Snow halation and starlog.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

Next up was Azusa Tadakoro… and I don’t know her either (seriously what’s wrong with me?). She sang Hello My Revolution for her first song and her energy was overflowing. I wonder how she can sing high notes and be hyper at the same time? During the talk session she said that she’s studying English and asked the crowd if we’re excited just the same as how she’s feeling. Azusa-san covered Aya Hirano’s Lost my music and sang her new song DREAM LINE to end her set.

I took a seat for a while to rest because since the concert started I’ve been standing up. But when the next artist was announced, I disregarded the pain and stress I feel, I stood up. Kensho-bby is up!


Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

Kensho, Kensho, Kensho!!! He’s so cute when I first saw him in the KuroBas Cup 2013 portraying the character he voiced, shadow Kuroko Tetsuya. I was like “Kuroko isn’t that hyper, why is the seiyuu so hyper?” He was no different at the Lantis Festival. When he entered the stage, he jumped and ran across the stage while greeting the audience. What surprised me was.. is that really Kensho? Why is he looking mature? He’s so handsomeeeee!! He sang his latest single TOUCH to open his set, followed by NEEDLESS TO SAY from the same album. WARNING: FANGIRL COMMENTS AHEAD Kensho’s talk session was pure cuteness! He waved his hand and said “Hiiiii! I’m Kensho Ono!! Hiiii!!!” He tried his best speaking in English, stopping for a while and thinking what to say next, filling it with a Japanese “Etouu” which I personally found adorable. Everything about him is so adorable! But what stunned was when he said that “I am single”. I was on the phone with my friend and told her “Did you hear that? Kensho said he’s single!!” Thank you for letting us know Kensho (LOL). But yeah, he’s meaning to say he’s a singer. *grins* What caught me off guard was when he asked “Do you know Kuroko Tetsuya?” I screamed at the top of my lungs, as well as the other fan(girl)s, answering “YESSSSS!!!” He was amazed with the crowd’s response and shared that he’ll be singing Kuroko’s character song Future Line. He opened the KuroBas cup with this song so I knew it, but it was surprisingly upbeat. Something changed but it doesn’t matter it’s still cute. In this song, Kensho sang ahead after the first chorus which he covered with a cute pause, his eyes showing that “Oops, sorry”. His last song was FANTASTIC TUNE, which is the ending theme of Kuroko no Basuke and had another Oops moment (which is totally fine because he smiled boyishly again). At the end of the song he did a backflip which amazed everyone in the hall.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

Kensho’s performance made my energy go down but I can’t pass out here. OLDCODEX is yet to come. I need to save energy because I know Tattsun is that kind of person.. he’ll get the crowd engaged as much as he can and he’ll never stop. But this was impossible because of Suzumura Kenichi.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

Suzuken is in his usual getup: with a vest over his shirt. I was stunned when he sang his first song INTENTION because I can’t help but stare at him. That’s Suzuken right? Why is he so handsome? Was he really that handsome ever since? I honestly didn’t know the words to his songs but luckily I knew the tune so I just went along with it. In his talk session he clearly emphasized this English sentence “Hi I’m Kenichi Suzumura and my weakest point is English”. The crowd cheered to his honesty and he spoke in Japanese afterwards. Code:BREAKER appeared on the screen when he sang シロイカラス which was the song I was listening to before I went to Singapore. I can’t believe that it’ll be a lot cooler hearing it live! Also, I swore to myself I’ll watch Code:BREAKER afterwards. Before his last song, he oriented the crowd that his song have to melodies of “Oh” and he requested us to join him. He sang あいうえおんがく last.


Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

I told myself, SuzuKen was so hyper too like Kensho, I’m tired. I sat down again and I said I’ll just listen to Ogata Megumi who’s up next. BUT NO. OF COURSE IT DIDN”T HAPPEN. Not when she entered the stage singing Cruel Angel’s Thesis! That was the opening song of the first mature anime I watched during my childhood, Neon Genesis Evangelion! Did I tell you that she voiced Shinji Ikari?! Once again, I stood up and sang along. I. MEMORIZED. THE. LYRICS. OF. THIS. SONG. One because I love it, Two because I sang it in a contest (and won third place). She’s very finesse on stage but with unbelievable energy luring the crowd to join in. At the end of the song, she shocked me by turning her back on stage and saying a few lines with Shinji’s voice! Oh god, how I melted right at that moment! Megumi speaks English and asked the crowd if we’re having fun. Umm, of course we are?! Ahhh! She called in Azusa Tadakoro for her next song, Moonlight Densetsu. Azusa entered the stage energetically waving and said Megumi-san is like her sister. Megumi-san was shocked and said “No.. I am your brother” The audience went wild and someone shouted “Onii-chan” (which turned out to be an acquaintance of mine) to Megumi-san’s surprise. She just laughed it off and sang Moonlight Densetsu with Azusa. Her last two songs were from Danganronpa, her most famous game work she said, 再生-Rebuild- and 出航-departure-. Megumi-san left us with a message to continuously support Japanese artists. Yes we will Megumi-san!

There was a fifteen-minute break after the Ogata Megumi’s performance. It was a chance for me to /finally/ sit down and take a breather. The Starting STYLE!! music video appeared on the stage and the crowd squealed as they saw their favorite artist’s faces. I was overwhelmed with Ono Daisuke, GRANRODEO and Morikubo Shoutarou’s fans because they made sure that their voices were heard. There was also a video clip featuring JAM Project, the main dish of the night. It’s an interview asking the members what’s the secret to their energy and all of them replied “Yunker”. A follow-up question was made on who among the members is more hyper than who. At the very end, Kageyama-san revealed that it was the fans’ smiles that kept the going. D’aaawww!!

And when my eyes scanned the stage I saw my death. I saw the canvas. The famous OLDCODEX canvas. It is time.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

The moment the next artist was announced I stood up and made sure I have all the energy and voice I can muster. For it’s OLDCODEX turn to rock the stage. When the lights flooded the stage and WALK started playing, I froze for it’s also when Suzuki Tatsuhisa made his appearance; jumping and moving to the song’s beat just like his other lives. He signaled the crowd to scream louder and we did. Honestly, by far, theirs is the most deafening welcome ever. He was wearing his signature outfit of his white statement shirt, black shorts and shoes and his tilted cap. SEEING HIM IN PERSON MADE ME CRY.. LITERALLY CRY. My tears were unstoppable because finally I’m here watching him in the flesh. He’s just 10 rows away from me. He’s Tattsun alright but actually seeing him made me realize that he is really really handsome, his skin is so fair and his smiles are to die for. He would often stick out his tongue just like he used to, but I WILL TRADE ANYTHING JUST TO SEE HIM SMILE AGAIN. SERIOUSLY. His energy was overflowing and the way he sang the song was no different to the recorded version. Tattsun was surprised when the crowd sang along, including the clapping parts. He sang Dried Up Youthful Fame next and I didn’t hesitate to sing and rap with him. He wants the audience engaged so he stood in the middle requesting the crowd to cheer more and more and more. When I thought I can’t go on any further, his facial expression of how passionate he is with his craft, made me forget everything and cheered for him as loud as I can.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

YORKE is on the other side of the stage doing an awesome live painting. I wasn’t able to look at him that much but when I did I was really engrossed on how he can get those artistic ideas right on the spot. Plus, YORKE has a different charm to the crowd. His art speaks for him. When the talk session came, Tattsun didn’t speak in English and let Yorke do the English speaking. They introduced their bandmates and shared that it’s their first time in Singapore. Yorke mentioned that his contribution to OLDCODEX is painting, dancing and making the audience happy. Aww YORKE you’re so cute! Waaaaa! They proceeded to the next half of their performance, singing Seek Your Turn and Landscape next which literally made my hairs stand on its ends. They ended with their famous Rage On from the anime Free!! and fool K from their album, FLOWER. It was during this time when I just made the most of the time I can see Tattsun and his smile because I won’t be able to hold his hand for the VIP High Five session. But I made sure that everytime the light is on me, I waved as hard as I can for him to notice. I just hope he does and at least know that I’m there for him. /insert emo music When the song ended and he bowed the last time, I felt a squeeze in my heart not wanting him to go back stage. And when he actually left, I literally shed a tear again. This trip is so fulfilling! Ahhhh!

Honestly, I wasn’t able to absorb the last two performances of the night because my energy was drained. Tattsun left nothing of me. Lol!


Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

Next to OLDCODEX was Chihara Minori. She was wearing the same outfit she did in Lantis Matsuri. I was surprised to know that her voice was really small. Before the concert, I thought that since she’s a voice actress, she can adjust her voice to fit her character but the talk session delivered the big news. She also can’t speak English well but tried her best. One notable song for the night was Kyoukai no Kanata, the opening song of the anime with the same name.

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

And last but definitely not the least was JAM Project. They were legends in the ANISONG industry and most of their songs came from superhero anime. Honestly, I do not know any of their songs (because I don’t watch mecha or yeah, superhero anime). But when I heard them sing their songs, it made me vow, just the same with Code:BREAKER, that when I get back home, I’ll start listening to their songs. Their voices were awesome and has unique quality. Having said that I gained interest in them, my favorite member so far is Masaki Endo-san. His voice was high which made me wanna leap on my seat. They sang GONG and Vanguard first. When their talk session came, Kageyama-san, their leader introduced the members since he can express himself in English. He said that they participated in AFA Singapore last year. After the session, they sang their individual songs. What caught my attention was the song We Are!! by Hiroshi Kitadani which was the first opening song of One Piece. Tidbit: I didn’t know it was from One Piece during the concert, I just searched for it when I returned home. Kageyama-san’s song sang Chala Head Chala from the legendary Dragon Ball Z which gave me childhood feels. Ahh! I suddenly felt old. But among all, their last song SKILL, for me, was the best song they performed. Even though I do not have enough energy left, I tried my best to shout “Hey” and “Motto Motto” with them. How epic and cool was that?

Photo from the Lantis Facebook page

After JAM Project’s performance, the lights dimmed and the crowd started shouting for an encore. The artists appeared again wearing their Lantis Festival shirts and gave their message to the fans. Misa-san was there to translate their messages. They sang Starting STYLE!! to end the show which once again brought tears to my eyes. They waved to the fans and said countless thanks before leaving the stage.

Overall, flying to Singapore was all worth it. Thank you so much Lantis for this concert! All my love to the Lantis artists from the Philippines!

Leave a comment